Family goals

I ran my scheduled hill repeats by myself this morning and spent the first 30 minutes or so daydreaming about the upcoming Modesto Marathon. I visualized each of my teammates coming in well before their BQ time. I imagined myself cheering. I thought about how we would celebrate afterward. It’s completely solidified in my mind, that entire day. March 20 is going to go down in Wascally history!

As I was daydreaming I passed by several older people walking their dogs. There were also two runners around my age who ran a couple of hill repeats and then disappeared.

Then, as I was tearing a path down our beloved Burrito Hill, I saw five runners coming the opposite way. Dad, Son and Oldest Daughter were in the lead, followed by Mom and Youngest Daughter.

How cool! I thought. There’s no school today so these badass parents brought their kids out at 8 a.m. for a run! 

I made it to the bottom of the hill and whipped back around for another repeat. Lo and behold, the family of five were making their way down the hill. No way… I thought.

After reaching the top of the hill I circled around a tree and blazed back downhill. And there they were. The Fit Five were huffing and puffing back up the hill. Yes way! I thought. They’re running hill repeats! These badass parents didn’t just bring their kids out for a run, they brought them out for repeats!!

I was excited to have company on the hill and also really stoked that this family was exactly what I imagine my family to be in a few years. My 3- and 5-year-olds might not be up for hill repeats yet, but when they get a little older I am for sure bringing them out!

This family got me thinking about goals. My goal isn’t to be able to afford a larger house with more room for my two kids. I don’t even have a goal of obtaining and bigger, fancier car. My goals aren’t tied to money and luxuries. My goal is simply to spend quality time with my kids outdoors.

Dad and Son (the son was actually the youngest child) were well ahead of the rest of the family by then. Son had a huge smile on his face as he raced up the hill next to Dad. Oldest Daughter was running at her own pace, and Mom was going a little slower to wait for Youngest Daughter to catch up.  After a few repeats, Youngest Daughter was getting tired. She started walking up the hill.

As I came downhill I yelled, “Great job, you can do it!”

A smile spread across Youngest Daughter’s face and she started pumping her arms and lifting her knees. She ran the rest of the way up the hill. As I came back up for another repeat, she descended and yelled in the sweetest little voice, between breaths, “Thank – you – for the – encour – agement!”

“You bet!” I responded, smiling and giving a thumbs up.

I was just about done with my repeats and the Fit 5 had gathered at the bottom of the hill to run another repeat together. As I sprinted downhill toward them, they started up the hill, arms pumping, breathing heavy. “Great job, you guys!!” I yelled. What I meant to say was “Your family is so freakin’ awesome! I’m so proud of you and I don’t even know you! I hope our family is like yours when my kids get bigger! Keep up the awesome work!!” 

But “Great job, you guys!!” would have to do.

2 thoughts on “Family goals

  1. Gorgeous post. It’s always been one of my primary goals for the kids to cultivate in them a love of the outdoors. Mine are just a touch older than yours, and whilst not running hill repeats, are still doing our best to have them enjoy the outdoors:

    Like

    • Adorable!! My kids love hiking with me and they love trail running (although very short distances, like a mile to a mile and a half). While I’m super excited for them to get bigger and go on longer runs with me, I really enjoy them being so young and curious about the nature around them!

      Like

Leave a Reply

